Our system detected that your browser is blocking advertisements on our site. Please help support FoxesTalk by disabling any kind of ad blocker while browsing this site. Thank you.
ozleicester

Watching files from portable HD

Hiys folks,

Ive got a whole lot of files (movies, tv, etc) on a portable 1tb hard drive. I would like to watch these on the TV, without having to go through my laptop etc... whats the easiest/best/most cost effective way?

Heard you can run them through PS3 but they cost a shedload... so perhaps a cheap little media centre of eBay.... anyway.. appreciate your thoughts.

edit.... just having a look at Hard disk recorders/freeview boxes (eg, Samsung DVD-SH895M 250GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder)..... are these sort of things usable?

Im no expert, but can't you plug your harddisk into a USB port on a dvd player? (Some have them, some dont)

I usually watch my files over the PS3 by plugging my harddisk into the usb port on the ps3, which works perfectly. Im not sure if you can do the same on a DVD player, but I would think you can? But as previously stated, i am no expert :)

Hope you find a solution!

Im no expert, but can't you plug your harddisk into a USB port on a dvd player? (Some have them, some dont)

I usually watch my files over the PS3 by plugging my harddisk into the usb port on the ps3, which works perfectly. Im not sure if you can do the same on a DVD player, but I would think you can? But as previously stated, i am no expert :)

Cheers, that was what i was thinking.. I dont have a dvd player so dunno :)

I tried to do this with a dvd player and it didnt work for me. I think you can plug a small memory stick in(say 2Gb?) and watch them through that but that would be a massive ballache!